Cristiano Ronaldo becomes Euro’2020’s top scorer

    With five goals and an assist, the Quinas captain took the individual prize.

    Portugal said goodbye to Euro’2020 rather prematurely, losing to Belgium (1-0) in the round of 16, but Cristiano Ronaldo managed to add another individual distinction to the winner’s curriculum.

    The captain of the National Team was crowned top scorer in the competition, with five goals, the same as the Czech Patrik Schick, but benefited from the assistance made to Diogo Jota in the defeat (4-2) against Germany. Benzema, a French forward, closed the podium with four goals.

    Ronaldo, it will be remembered, scored two goals against Hungary, one against Germany and another two against France. Of the five he scored at the European, three were from a penalty kick.

    The Portuguese footballer, who scored three goals in 2016, had already been one of the best in 2012, then with three, the same as Russian Alan Dzagoev, Croatian Mario Mandzukic, German Mario Gómez, Italian Mario Balotelli and Spaniard Fernando Torres .

    With a handful of goals at Euro’2020, Cristiano Ronaldo stood out as the leading scorer in the history of Europeans, adding 14 goals, five more than Frenchman Michel Platini, scorer of his nine goals at the European Championship in 1984 .

    The Portuguese star became, at 36 years and five months, the oldest best scorer in the history of Euros. Until then, the oldest was Michel Platini, who was 29 years and a month old in 1984.



    2016 – Antoine Griezmann, 25 years and 4 months

    2012 – Fernando Torres, 28 years and 4 months

    2008 – David Villa, 26 years and 8 months

    2004 – Milan Baros, 23 years and 10 months

    2000 – Patrick Kluivert, 24 years old; Savo Milosevic, 26 years and 10 months old

    1996 – Alan Shearer, 25 years and 10 months

    1992 – Henrik Larsen, 26 years and 2 months; Karl-Heinz Riedle 26 years and 11 months; Dennis Bergkamp, ​​23 years and 2 months old; Tomas Brolin, 22 years and 7 months old

    1988 – Marco van Basten, 23 years and 8 months

    1984 – Michel Platini, 29 years and 1 month

    1980 – Klaus Allofs, 23 years and 8 months

    1976 – Dieter Muller, 22 years and 2 months

    1972 – Gerd Muller, 26 years and 9 months

    1968 – Dragan Dzajic, 22 years and 2 months

    1964 – Jesus Pereda, 24 years old; Ferenc Bene, 19 years and 7 months; Deszo Novak, 25 years and 5 months

    1960 – François Heutte, 22 years and 4 months old; Viktor Ponedelnik, 23 years and 2 months old; Valentin Ivanov, 25 years and 7 months; Dražan Jerković, 23 years and 10 months; Milan Galić, 22 years and 3 months old

    @ O Jogo

    Latest articles


    Related articles